Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug DVD + UV Copy: Film & TV Reviews & Coupon & Prices

Martin Freeman
Price: £14.50 & this item Delivered FREE in the UK with Super Saver Delivery. See details and conditions
Special Offers Available? (in Amazon)
You Save: £ 188.69 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 1 hrs 43 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

The movie is basically none stop action...!!!

I am a big fan of the hobbit. I loved part 1 although it was slow to start off with but that was understandable but with Part 2 it gets straight right in to the action. Read more

Published 4 days ago by Connor

Makes me looking forward to the Tom Bombadil Trilogy

Eh, what about that: Tom Bombadil, spared out by purpose, only to create a separate film trilogy, 3x 4hrs, thoroughly executed by B.horror.jackson, none other .!? Read more

Published 6 days ago by R., Christine

Any resemblance between this movie and the book is merely coincidental

To begin, I really wanted to like this movie. I"ve read the book about 10 times in my life and consider myself a solid fan of the work. Read more

Published 6 days ago by Rob Slaven

Preview of the second episode of Hobbit

I appreciate the extended edition of the Lord of Rings, worth of more than the three episodes. It stretches my imagination beyond its capacity to see how to make three episodes of... Read more

Published 7 days ago by Markku Kastinwn

this is more like it !

after the first instalment of total drivel i was pleasantly surprised that this was exciting and told a good story and introdoced the characters well. at last ! Read more

Published 7 days ago by Mr. J. Fowler

Fantastic movie

This was a really good movie but if your expecting it to follow the book closely it doesn"t. Obviously they end up in a lot of the same scenarios that happen in the book but it"s... Read more

Published 8 days ago by Horror Lover

Keeps Getting Better

Contrary to popular opinion I actually liked The Hobbit an Unexpected Journey, I no it had some tempo issues but in all honesty as a Tolkien fan I easily overlooked it. Read more

Published 9 days ago by MattRigby

Another Fantastic Installment

Easily one of the best films I have ever seen. This Movie is an amazing cinematic experience that will stay with you forever. A must see.

Published 10 days ago by Joe Hilditch

Aaron g is right

Aaron g Robert jones is right where the bitches guns and car crashes it is disopointing and I"m sad about it

Published 12 days ago by Reginald doplganger

Looks very pretty - but more padding than a padded cell full of duvets

This is a very pretty film, and the 3D is pretty good - especially the bees. If you want to spend nearly three hours looking at great scenery and impressively realised sets, not to... Read more

Published 12 days ago by Mr. J. Birch


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

36 of 51 people found the following review helpful

I am fire...... I am death....14 Dec 2013

By Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

Format:DVD

After crossing over the Misty Mountains, Thorin must seek help from a powerful stranger before taking on the dangers of an illusioned filled forest.

If they reach Lake-town it will be time Bilbo Baggins to fulfil his contract with the dwarfs. The party must complete the journey to Lonely Mountain and Baggins must seek out the Secret Door.

A door that will give them access to the hoard of the dragon Smaug....

After reassessing the first movie, which to be honest was a bit of a slog to get through, my expectations were not very high for this second instalment. I was looking forward to it, but this trilogy didn"t really have the event feel that LOTR had..... Until now.

After a very slow opening, with a flashback, it soon goes back to what Jackson does best, event set pieces of the highest order. As soon as the group go into the forest, that"s it, the film is rip roaring fun right up until the final haunting scene.

The film then is wrapped around three very impressive, and huge set pieces. The first in the forest with the spiders and meeting old friends,the second is a wonderful barrel chase, involving Orcs and Elves, and the final piece, which rivals anything from the original trilogy, when we meet Smaug.

This is stunning stuff, and Freeman excels in this part, one reason is because he"s not really focused on until this part, and his fear makes his meeting with Smaug all the more urgent.

And what a creation Smaug is, as soon as he unveils himself from under millions of coins, you know instantly he will be right up there with Gollum, The T-Rex, and The T-1000, as the best CGI creations ever committed to screen.
Read more ›

23 of 35 people found the following review helpful

WHAT HAVE WE DONE? 22 Dec 2013

By The Movie Guy TOP 500 REVIEWER

Format:DVD

The second installment is in the books as the dwarfs try to regain their home. In this installment we are introduced to a passionate elf named Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) one of the bright spots of the film. I thought the spiders were more realistic. Tauriel reiterates a basic theme "Are we not part of this world?" When good people stand by, evil wins.

It was interesting to see Legolas (Orlando Bloom) in this film as it establishes his relationship with the dwarfs to create better story continuity. At the same time the continuity is lost as we never have that scene in LOTR when Legolas says to Gimli, "Hey, I met your father." Radagast (Sylvester McCoy) once again appears in the Hobbit, a wizard cut out of LOTR for "brevity." If only we could go back and film it all over.

The film ends at an awkward point. Most people I have talked to claimed this was better than the first installment with more action. I will admit I enjoyed the first feature better, and of all the 5 films released to date, I would rate this as the weakest. Still, if you are going to see the third film, you pretty much need to see this one in spite on any shortcomings. Yes, the weakest of the five, I still loved and rated 5 stars.

What I don"t like is how the franchise sucks money out of me with the DVD release, then a few months later coming out with the extended version. I will not be purchasing this DVD until the extended version is released.

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Jumpy Twirly - shoot an arrow, look sullen (repeat etc) 5 Jan 2014

By Tim

Format:DVD

3D is amazing, even O.T.T. (bumble bees fly right at you etc)- like you are watching a computer game trailer. The actual baseline story is of course a "given" and a decent representation of Tolkein"s book with heroes on a journey encountering monsters... etc.

Much, much weaker, are the actual human actors! - Wooden which is surprising considering the material they can draw upon. Perhaps they are totally overshadowed by the CGI and never actually got to act face to face! The makeup and wig artists have also overdone it - so again the actors struggle to get any expression across - Steven Fry fails to deliver any of the wit he is capable of. Dwarfs are all from same clan, yet confusingly have accents from all over the world (that is just plain lazy directing).

Kids will absolutely love it. Personally I thought it was a disappointing cake smothered in too much icing, cherries and glittery bits.

40 of 62 people found the following review helpful

I"m pretty sure this isn"t what Tolkien was getting at. 19 Dec 2013

By Davywavy2 VINE VOICE

Format:DVD

I"d been thinking of giving this post a play-on-wordsy subtitle like "The desperation of Smug", or something like that, but that I realised that
a) It wouldn"t be funny, and
b) It didn"t actually mean anything.
So I didn"t.

Anyway. When the first of the Hobbit films came out last year I rather enjoyed it. Yeah, it wasn"t as good as the Lord of the Rings films, where Peter Jackson had things like a limited budget and an external producer to keep a lid on his excesses, but so long as I took it as being "Inspired by" the book rather than "Based on" I actually got rather a lot out of it and I went into this film with the same frame of mind expecting more of the same.
Ah.

We open with a flashback as Gandalf meets Thorin for the first time in the Prancing Pony in Bree and discuss needing a burglar to gain the Arkenstone and unite the Dwarven people, before lurching back to the present and an exciting chase sequence as our heroes flee a pursuing gang of orcs to Beorn"s steading. It"s all very exciting; lots of sweeping long shots, running, shouting, orcs, pounding drums etc, and you"d better get used to that right now as you"re going to be sitting through a heck of a lot of that for the next two and a half hours. In fact, at any point for the rest of the film when you think things might be about to slow down it"s Orcs! Shouting! Running! Drums!
Read more ›


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any product from the Film and TV Store sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 to use on any music download in our MP3 Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)
  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)
  • Please note that this product contains an UltraViolet™ Copy that is not compatible with iTunes. Add this title to your UltraViolet collection to instantly stream and/or download the content to your PC, Mac or compatible mobile device (including Apple devices). The UV copy can only be added to an account from the UK. Restrictions and limitations apply. Learn about UltraViolet--click on the link to browse our customer help page.


  • Reviews

    Product Description

    The second of three epic instalments in director Peter Jackson's blockbuster prequel to 'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy. Set in Middle-Earth 60 years before events in 'The Lord of the Rings', the story follows the adventures of Hobbit Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman), who, at the instigation of the wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen), suddenly finds himself co-opted into joining a company of 13 Dwarves led by Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage) to help reclaim the lost kingdom of the Lonely Mountain from the clutches of Smaug the dragon (voice of Benedict Cumberbatch). In this film, while Gandalf heads south on his own, Bilbo, Thorin and the Dwarves enter the treacherous Mirkwood Forest on their way to the mountain. When they reach Lake-town Bilbo will have to perform the role he was assigned at the start of the quest - to find a secret door that will lead him to the lair of the dragon...
www.reviewlighting.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.
www.reviewlighting.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.